You are here:

Introduction to Buddhism

Introduction to Buddhism

What is Buddhism?

Buddhism is a religion that originates from the teachings of Siddhartha Gotama, known as Buddha, after he was enlightened over 2,500 years ago. 

What is the Middle Way?

Buddhism teaches how to develop an understanding of the middle path of life. This means living between over indulgence and self-deprivation;  and thinking in the present moment, not in the past or future.

Four Noble Truths: The four noble truths are the center concept of all Buddhist teachings.

  1. The truth of suffering 
  2. The truth of the origin of suffering 
  3. The truth of stopping suffering 
  4. The truth of the path leading to the stopping of suffering

Eight Fold Path: Buddhist believe that following The Eight Fold Path teaches the path to end suffering in people’s lives and the world around them. This is the 4th Noble Truth.

  1. Right View
  2. Right Intention
  3. Right Speech
  4. Right Action
  5. Right Livelihood
  6. Right Effort
  7. Right Mindfulness
  8. Right Concentration

What is the Triple Gem, or Three Jewels?

As Buddhist we believe in the Triple Gem, which represents the Buddha, Dhamma and Sangha. We pay respect to this when we bow three times, and in daily chanting.

  • Buddha is the Lord Buddha as he has walked the path to enlightenment
  • Dhamma means the  teachings of Buddha and sharing the path to enlightenment
  • Sangha means the group of monks who have devoted their lives to Buddhism. It can also refer to the community of people who share the Buddhist belief and practice.